The Republic
The SCM Republic was the period of early SCM civilization when the government operated as a republic.

It began on Charidin Prime with the overthrow of the SCM monarchy, and its replacement by a government headed by two consuls, elected annually by the citizens and advised by a senate. A complex constitution gradually developed, centered on the principles of a separation of powers and checks and balances. Except in times of dire national emergency, public offices were limited to one year, so that, in theory at least, no single individual could dominate his fellow citizens.

SCM society was hierarchical. The evolution of the Constitution of the SCM Republic was heavily influenced by the struggle between the patricians, SCM's land-holding aristocracy, who traced their ancestry back to the early history of the SCM kingdom, and the plebeians, the far more numerous citizen-commoners. Over time, the laws that gave patricians exclusive rights to SCM's highest offices were repealed or weakened, and a new aristocracy emerged from among the plebeian class. The leaders of the Republic developed a strong tradition and morality requiring public service and patronage in peace and war, making military and political success inextricably linked.

Following the diaspora to Krylos the SCM Republic was never restored, but neither was it abolished, so the exact date of the transition to the SCM Empire is a matter of interpretation. Historians have variously proposed the appointment of T'krall  as perpetual dictator as the defining event ending the Republic. It is still refered to as "The Republic" despite it actually being a democratic oligarchy.
Monday, 20 April 2015 06:59

Marriage and Civil Unions

Written by
Marriage throughout the Republic is a social union or legal contract between people called spouses that establishes rights and obligations between the spouses, between the spouses and their children, and between the spouses and their in-laws. The definition of marriage varies according to different cultures, but it is principally an institution in which interpersonal relationships, usually intimate and sexual, are acknowledged.
Monday, 20 April 2015 07:15


Written by
Whilst there are several forms of worship throughout the empire, the most practiced form of worship recognizes twelve deities also known as the Titans and twenty one lesser gods, who were a primeval race of powerful deities, descendants of Gaia and Uranus, that ruled during the legendary Golden Age. They were immortal huge beings of incredible strength and stamina .
In the first generation of twelve Titans, the males were Oceanus, Hyperion, Coeus, Cronus, Crius, and Iapetus and the females - the Titanesses - were Mnemosyne, Tethys, Theia, Phoebe, Rhea and Themis. The second generation of Titans consisted of Hyperion's children Eos, Helios, and Selene; Coeus's daughters Leto and Asteria; Iapetus's children Atlas, Prometheus, Epimetheus, and Menoetius; Oceanus' daughter Metis; and Crius's sons Astraeus, Pallas, and Perses.
Thursday, 23 April 2015 07:46

Imperial Currency of the Principate

Written by


Name Metal Values
10 penny
metal alloy
100 penny or 10 shilling
silver alloy
1,000  penny, 100 shilling or 10 sovereign
10,000 penny, 1,000 shilling, 1,000 sovereign or 10 pound
imperial crown
100,000 penny,  10,000 shilling, 10,000 sovereign, 100 pound, 10 guinea,


  • As can be seen the currency of the Republic is a decimal based system, although other local currencies exist throughout the empire all trade is completed using the common currency of the realm.
  • Now days the use of physical currency is limited to the lower classes, as all citizens, and higher social classes have an implant in their left arm which carries their identity and medical record as well as bank details and is scanned following purchases therefore proving cashless transactions.
Thursday, 23 April 2015 12:05

Societal Hierarchy

Written by
Social class in the republic is hierarchical, but there are multiple and overlapping social hierarchies, and an individual's relative position in one might be higher or lower than in another. The status of freeborn individuals is established by:
  • ancestry;
  • census rank,  based on wealth and political privilege, with the senatorial and noble ranks elevated above the ordinary citizen;
  • attainment of honors ; and
  • citizenship, of which there are grades with varying rights and privileges
There are also classes of non-citizens with different legal rights. Under the republic law, slaves are considered property and have no rights as such. However, some laws regulate slavery and offer slaves protections not extended to other forms of property such as animals. Slaves who had been manumitted are freedmen, and for the most part enjoy the same legal rights and protections as free-born citizens.
Saturday, 02 May 2015 06:41

Time Keeping in the Republic

Written by
The Republic uses a metric time system. You will find below a rough conversion system to the old Earth system of time keeping.
  • micron - second (mike)
  • millcron - minute (mill)
  • centcron - hour (sen)
  • cron - day (kron)
  • dekcron - week (deck)
  • dodecron - month (doad)
  • cycle - year
  • aeon - 100 years
  • epoch - 1000 years
Therefore time is broken down as such:-
  • 100 microns in a millcron
  • 100 millcrons in a centcron
  • 10 centicrons in a cron
  • 10 crons in a dekcron
  • 3 dekcrons in a dodecron
  • 12 dodecron in a cycle
  • 100 cycles in an aeon
  • 100 aeons in an epoch
On planets where a cron is longer than it is on Krylos due to it's rotation, extra centcrons are added into a time period named the "Time Slip" - between 5 cent and 6 cent. All chronometers will stop at 5 sent and not change to 6 cent until after the "time slip". This allows for a commonality of time throughout the Republic.

*please note - a micron is not the same period of time as a second and is only shown as a reference, the same goes for all other time units