Monday, 20 April 2015 07:15


Written by
Rate this item
(0 votes)
Whilst there are several forms of worship throughout the empire, the most practiced form of worship recognizes twelve deities also known as the Titans and twenty one lesser gods, who were a primeval race of powerful deities, descendants of Gaia and Uranus, that ruled during the legendary Golden Age. They were immortal huge beings of incredible strength and stamina .
In the first generation of twelve Titans, the males were Oceanus, Hyperion, Coeus, Cronus, Crius, and Iapetus and the females - the Titanesses - were Mnemosyne, Tethys, Theia, Phoebe, Rhea and Themis. The second generation of Titans consisted of Hyperion's children Eos, Helios, and Selene; Coeus's daughters Leto and Asteria; Iapetus's children Atlas, Prometheus, Epimetheus, and Menoetius; Oceanus' daughter Metis; and Crius's sons Astraeus, Pallas, and Perses.

  • There are many other numerous gods related to those below but they are too numerous to mention as they play a lesser role in day to day worship.
Name Description

The Twelve Titans

Hyperion Titan of light. With Theia, he is the father of Helios, Selene, and Eos.
Iapetus Titan of mortality and father of Prometheus, Epimetheus, Menoetius, and Atlas.
Coeus Titan of intellect and the axis of heaven around which the constellations revolved.
Crius The least individualized of the Twelve Titans, he is the father of Astraeus, Pallas, and Perses.
Cronus The leader of the Titans, who overthrew his father Uranus only to be overthrown in turn by his son, Zeus. Not to be confused with Chronos, the god of time.
Mnemosyne Titan of memory and remembrance, and mother of the Nine Muses.
Oceanus Titan of the all-encircling river Oceans around the planets, the font of all  fresh-water.
Phoebe Titan of the "bright" intellect and prophecy, and consort of Coeus.
Rhea Titan of female fertility, motherhood, and generation. She is the sister and consort of Cronus, and mother of Zeus, Hades, Poseidon, Hera, Demeter, and Hestia.
Tethys Wife of Oceanus, and the mother of the rivers, springs, streams, fountains, and clouds.
Theia Titan of sight and the shining light of the clear blue sky. She is the consort of Hyperion, and mother of Helios, Selene, and Eos.
Themis Titan of divine law and order.

The Lesser Titans

Asteria Titan of nocturnal oracles and falling stars.
Astraeus Titan of dusk, stars, and planets, and the art of astrology.
Atlas Titan forced to carry the sky upon his shoulders also Son of Iapetus.
Aura Titan of the breeze and the fresh, cool air of early morning.
Dione Titan of the oracle of Dodona.
Eos Titan of the dawn.
Epimetheus Titan of afterthought and the father of excuses.
Eurybia Titan of the mastery of the seas and consort of Crius.
Eurynome Titan of water-meadows and pasturelands, and mother of the three Charites by Zeus.
Helios Titan of the sun and guardian of oaths.
Clymene Titan of renown, fame, and infamy, and wife of Iapetos.
Lelantos Titan of air and the hunter's skill of stalking prey. He is the male counterpart of Leto.
Leto Titan of motherhood and mother of the twin Olympians, Artemis and Apollo.
Menoetius Titan of violent anger, rash action, and human mortality. Killed by Zeus.
Metis Titan of good counsel, advice, planning, cunning, craftiness, and wisdom. Mother of Athena.
Ophion An elder Titan, in some versions of the myth he ruled the Earth with his consort Eurynome before Cronus overthrew him.
Pallas Titan of warcraft. He was killed by Athena during the Titanomachy.
Perses Titan of destruction and peace.
Prometheus Titan of forethought and crafty counsel, and creator of mankind.
Selene Titan of the moons
Styx Titan of the Underworld river Styx and personification of hatred.


Read 1696 times Last modified on Friday, 24 April 2015 06:54

Ministry of Information

Login to post comments